Recent travels

I’ve enjoyed much of the last ten days getting a chance to visit the Twin Cities and Las Vegas. I’ve never done much traveling (to some extent, I’ve done more in the last ten days than the rest of my life). I am anxious to do more. I prefer to visit metropolitan areas and cultures than experience nature. No doubt, the feeling of sublimity is really cool, but I’ve always found looking up at the night’s sky to be more powerful than other, as it were, natural experiences. Some cities I want to visit in the U.S. before traveling abroad are New York, San Francisco, New Orleans, and Seattle.

I should note that I enjoyed seeing many friends over the last ten days. Chrissy and I flew to the Twin Cities last weekend and witnessed her younger sister Lauren graduate from the University of Minnesota. She will soon have her degree in aerospace engineering conferred (though the ceremonial process has already taken place). I also enjoyed sending Chrissy’s dad, Dan Harbin, off on a seven-week cross-country cycling trip from Los Angeles to Boston. What an incredible experience that should be. Together with Chrissy’s mom Marsha and her sister Nickie, we had an awesome time in Minneapolis. We attended went to an art museum, attended a house party which featured a delicious assortment of cakes, and saw Iron Man 2 for free! Thanks to Lauren for hosting us for part of our stay.

I have never been to a place like Las Vegas. I really enjoyed hanging out with Chrissy, Eric, Justin, and John Payne. For me, Vegas was a mixed bag. Attending The Beatles: Love was one of the most awesome experiences I’ve had and I enjoyed seeing Penn & Teller’s act immensely. However, Vegas had tremendously steep diminishing marginal returns for me. As Justin said during our stay, “This city has no soul.” The flashing lights, noise pollution, smoke-filled rooms were stress inducing. I experienced sensory overload. Overall, Vegas was a lot of fun, and I’m glad I went.

Leave a Reply

